The Kimberley Dynamiters won the 1936 Allan Cup by defeating the Sudbury Falcons 2-0 and 4-3 in a two game total goals series. It was the first time a BC team had ever won the Allan Cup, which was symbolic of Canadian senior amateur hockey supremacy.

Having qualified the previous year, the Dynamiters toured Canada, then traveled to Europe to compete at the world hockey championships in 1937. Before the tournament, the team added key players Tom Alamack, George Goble, Doug Keiver, Harry Robertson, and Gordon “Shifty” Wilson while leaving behind Eric Hornquist, Harry Brown, Ken Moore and Art Mackie.

Prior to the world tournament, the Dynamiters competed in a nineteen game European exhibition series, winning eighteen and tying one.

The team went on to win the 1937 world senior amateur hockey championship, held in London, England, by defeating England in eight straight games. The Dynamiters were the first BC team ever to win the world hockey championship.

Team Members:
Johnny Achtzener (coach), Bill Botterill, Fred Botterill, Harry Brown, Bill Burnett, Ken Campbell, Jack Forsey, Eric ‘Swede’ Hornquist, James Kemp, Paul Kozak, Art Mackie, Hugo Mackie, Ken Moore, Ralph Redding.