The 1924-25 Victoria Cougars were the second BC team to capture the Stanley Cup, a decade after the Vancouver Millionaires won the first. The Cougars were also the last non-NHL team to win the Cup and remain the last BC team to have won Lord Stanley’s cherished chalice.

During the 1924-25 regular season, the Cougars (formerly known as the “Aristocrats”) finished third in the Western Canada Hockey League regular season standings behind the Calgary Tigers and the Saskatoon Sheiks. In the post-season playoffs, however, Victoria won its first-round series against Saskatoon 6-4 and its second, against Calgary, 3-1.

In the Stanley Cup finals, Victoria faced the National Hockey League’s Montreal Canadiens. Three out of the four games were played in Victoria and one was held at Vancouver’s Denman Arena before an over-capacity crowd of 11,000 fans.

Victoria won the first two games 5-2 and 3-1 before the Canadiens took game three 4-2. The Cougars stormed back to capture the 1925 Stanley Cup by defeating the Canadiens 6-1 in game four to take the best-of-five game series 3-1.

Cougars’ goaltender Happy Holmes recorded a 2.00 goal-against average for the series. Jack Walker led Victoria with four goals, while Frank Fredrickson scored three.

Team Members:
John ‘Jocko’ Anderson, Wally Elmer, Frank Foyston, Gordon Fraser, Frank Frederickson, ‘Slim’ Hal Halderson, Harold Hart, Happy Holmes, Clem Loughlin, Harry Meeking, Lester Patrick (manager and coach), Jack Walker.