Eric Whitehead Inspired Service Awards

The Eric Whitehead Inspired Service Awards, named after the first Curator, Executive Director and Founder of the BC Sports Hall of Fame, are designed to recognize long-standing service and significant contributions to the larger BC sports community, typically over the course of 25 years or more in national, provincial, regional or local sport. The Whitehead Awards reflect an emphasis on those who have directly or indirectly enhanced the storytelling within their sport (or sports) on the strength of the quality of leadership, management and/or governance that they have represented. There have been 39 recipients of the Eric Whitehead Inspired Service Awards since its inception in 2018.

2023 Award Recipients 

Joanna Fox, Victoria

Mike Harling, Vancouver

Hugh Macdonald, Victoria

Roger Skillings, Victoria

Lois Smith, Victoria

2022 Award Recipients

Colin Brown, Pender Harbour

Gail Hamamoto, Vancouver

Lawrie Johns, Vancouver

Bryna Kopelow, Vancouver

Doug Mason, West Vancouver

Anna Nyarady, Vancouver

Marvin Storrow, Vancouver

Dr. Barry Urness, Kelowna

2021 Award Recipients

Steve Ewen, Surrey

Brian Griffin, Qualicum Beach

Barry Macdonald, Pitt Meadows

Lara Mussell-Savage, Chilliwack

Terry Vandale, Elkford

Robert H. Wright, Coquitlam

2020 Award Recipients

Mary-Jane Abbott, Maple Ridge

Jane Blaine, Surrey

Scott Braley, North Vancouver

Brian McCalder, Richmond

Wendy Pattenden, Surrey

Margo Ross, Victoria

2019 Award Recipients

Carolynn Boomer, Kamloops

Brenda Chinn, Vancouver

Michelle Collens, North Vancouver

Jack Fulton, New Westminster

Ron Jones, Maple Ridge, B.C.

Bill Maclagan, Vancouver

John Mills, Vancouver

Rochelle Winterton, Vancouver

2018 Award Recipients

John Grisdale, Coquitlam

Allison Mailer, Port Moody

Kelly Mann, Victoria

Joan McMaster, Vancouver

Pete Quevillon, Richmond

Al Tynan, North Vancouver